WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The end of the day

A  bitty kind of day ... some cleaning and packing in the morning, then we walked down to the park to see how the advertised gastronomic event was shaping up (extras 1 and 2). The paella wasn't ready yet ... We then drove out to find some bits of the Roman aqueduct we haven't seen yet (extra 3: the tiny figure is S providing scale).

Back in Almuñecar, we decided to have some lunch. I really fancied a pizza, so after some sketchy TripAdvisor research on the phone we set off. I won't bore you with the tale of our disappointment; suffice it to say that after we'd waited an hour for our order, and virtually finished our bottle of wine in the process, we had pretty much decided to pay for the bottle and leave. But then the starter and pizzas arrived within five minutes of each other, slapped down on the table with neither apology nor explanation, and neither was worth the wait. So we ate quickly and left. I normally only review places I like on TA, but I'm making an exception for this place.

Back home, S had a siesta. At about 5:30 I belatedly realised that for only about the third time since we've been here, there were some clouds in the sky. So I rushed down to the beach with the camera and joined all the other people photographing the sunset over the Peñon. A much better way to say goodbye to Almuñecar than sitting grumpily in a restaurant in a drab side street.

Alternative more subtle blip here.

Edit: PS, yesterday I had my really last swim in the sea! It was divine, once the initial shock had worn off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.