Lyndsay's Awesome Stuff

By lyndsaymatthews

My handsome, sweet boy.

I'm so proud of this boy. He's really come into his own with school this year, his teacher really suits him and seems to understand his preferred learning style, which wasn't the case last year...

It's not that he had a bad teacher, I'm sure she's competent. All I know is, my excited, loving, observant, sweet, kind boy became quiet, withdrawn and just slowed right down. He stopped playing with his friends and played with the naughty kids, he lost his comfidence. Afte a few meetings with his then-teacher, I realised that in this case; it's not my son that has the problem. It's a case of the teacher deciding he's not a favourite, a swot or a problem child, so he got overlooked. At six years old. He spent the best part of his school time being ignored by his own teacher. No child should be ignored. It was a waste of a year.

But this time, my confident boy is back. He is a Monitor for the new kids, he's reading is coming on (I'd like to think that was my input) he has stories about his day instead of "I don't know, we had lunch". He looks forward to Monday and I look forward to him coming home with his smiles back on his face.

It's all good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.