Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Yeah! Snow!

It was a nice surprise to open the curtains of the hotel room this morning, to see the lovely white stuff... I know it won't last long, but I always love it when it comes.
The journey home was fine, though, as the snow ploughs had done their stuff.

I went in to see Di on the way home to wish her a happy birthday. Her home was full of lovely people, and lovely cocktails! It was great seeing some folks I haven't seen for a while, including a couple who had fond memories of Tulloch Castle, where I stayed last night.

It used to be a hostel for the kids from Gairloch, when they had to board in Dingwall. You see, Gairloch only used to be a 3 year school, and if anyone wanted to stay on at school, they had to go to Dingwall and to board there, only coming home at holidays.

Irene was telling me that when she stayed at Tulloch Castle at the age of 17, she and her friends had to go to church on a Sunday morning, then have lunch, then were sent to bed for 3 hours, before going to church again in the evening - can you imagine our 17 year olds putting up with that?

Ah - the good old days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.