Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Why am I always the bridesmaid?

Never the blushing bride?
Ding, dong, wedding bells
Always ring for other girls
But some fine day
Oh, let it be soon.....
I will wake up in the morning
On my own honeymoon.


So the old song goes.....

This is the bouquet I caught at the wedding on Saturday. It was actually second hand. The woman who actually caught it, cried out "Oh no! I'm already married!", and immediately threw it over her shoulder into my waiting arms. From the conversations I had at the dinner table, everyone seemed to be on their 2nd. or 3rd. marriages. I was definitely in the minority, being a spinster of the parish.

I was happy to keep this bouquet, as it is so natural and lovely.

It gave me something nice to look at today. Although I went into school first thing, I came home again because I was so full of the cold. I then got an appointment with the doctor, as I developed a rash on my leg, which would not disappear under the pressure of a glass...... My colleagues at school tried to console me with the thought that if it was meningitis, then the non-disappearing rash is one of the last signs before you go into a coma and die.

As I had to wait till the afternoon for an appointment with the doctor, it is just as well that it turned out not to be meningitis. The doctor, training to be a GP seemingly, looked about 12 years old. He admitted he didn't have a clue what it was.

Ah well - I'll just stick to the sherry.

Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.