CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Cranhill Barn, Beacon Farm, Frampton Mansell

While sorting a few books whilst in preparation for an imminent and necessary big purge, I came across a local book called 'Cotswold Stone Barns' by Tim Jordan. I must have bought it a few years ago when I was hoovering up what I thought are interesting books about the local area when browsing bookshops and secondhand book stalls. I had a quick look through it, which was easy as it consists of photos and brief descriptions of points of interest. It covers buildings from the 12th to the 19th century. 

Today the weather was fine with a lot of sunshine so on a whim I decided to go to seek out this old barn which I've watched over the years. I have just found out its name is Cranhill Barn, and is part of Beacon Farm, fairly near to Frampton Mansell. The book mentioned about how from the 18th century onwards a lot of barns were built away from the farm's main buildings in the midst of fields where they could provide shelter and storage facilities.

This one is very isolated but is in good condition. That might be explained by the fact that planning permission was granted for its conversion into a dwelling in 2004, with quite a few restrictions, one of which was the replacement of the corrugated iron roof by a more traditional appearing roof. That has happened, as has the basic improvement of the associated low building. But that is all. I wonder why it hasn't been finished?

Most of the old barns have been up subject to conversion, but not all. Whenever I see an original stone barn I have the urge to go on an expedition to photograph them before they all 'disappear' and become 'grand designs' fodder.

I arrived with good intentions to get up close to the barn which was about half a mile away across the field. But on the flat 'tops' of the Cotswold hills the north wind was incredibly cold so I just stayed on the small Emmerson Lane and found this vantage point where you can still see through the building. The sun was beginning to set so the small copse of trees cast its shadow over much of the building.

I blipped the same barn in 2013, from a slightly closer viewpoint, and with a similar rant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.