Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Keighley library

As Petronela is teaching the other side of Keighley to where we live and she cannot realistically get there on public transport, I’m the taxi driver and I’ve been frequenting the magnificent library (after two double espressos in the Wetherspoon pub next door). Free WiFi in both so I’ve been blogging from one or the other as well as adopting the two as my ‘writing sheds’.
I hadn’t been in the library since it was my bolt hole when I sneaked out of school (or never arrived!) over 60 years ago. Keighley Boys’ Grammar School, which was opposite the pub, no longer exists and in the past few months the building has disappeared. I now escape to the library to avoid killing myself with as much coffee (Lavazza) as you can drink for £1.20.
A wonderful library, well used and early in the morning echoing to the enthusiastic cries of tots from the nearby primary school.
I love it.
It was the first Carnegie library in England, opened in 1904.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.