Here, There and Everywhere!

Monarchs. They are well into their fall flight from Canada to Mexico and they were ubiquitous today. With every turn of the head, if you looked, you would see a monarch. If you kept your eyes to the ground, you would see a monarch shadow. We didn't even have to leave home, one would flutter past our apartment window every couple of minutes - and we live in a highrise. Their tenacity and power of flight is amazing. I can't wait to see the IMAX movie Flight of the Butterflies but I can't find any listing for Boston yet.

This photo was taken in the late afternoon. The fleabane is in full bloom and it was covered in monarchs - more than I've ever seen in one place. They must have a roost site near by. I don't know if this particular fleabane patch was especially tasty, or if other butterflies follow the monarchs (I suspect the latter) but there were plenty of red admirals and painted ladies on the bushes too.

And one more thing - the butterflies are extraordinary docile at the moment. I tried to persuade one to crawl onto my finger. It didn't want to, but it didn't fly away either, it just got back to the business of refueling.

Back in the real world, we went into town and had dinner with Steffi. Still warm enough to eat outside, fabulous.

Belle Isle Marsh, Boston

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.