Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Intrigue

Another image courtesy of G as this view was on her side of the car as I drove her today. She loves taking pictures of doors, especially ones that are closed because then she can make up lots of stories about what might be happening on the other side!

We drove all the way back again in the evening for our Monday night bible study which had quite a lot of discussion today. Fireworks too at the end coming from near the Burj Al Arab. I'd love to know why. I reckoned they might be part of the Dubai Airshow evening entertainment.

I forgot to mention in yesterday's journal, one of the things we did whilst in Dubai Mall was to call in at the Swatch watch shop. G's beloved white skin Swatch needs a new battery, except she made the mistake of saying it was losing time, so the salesman wanted to send it off to the service centre.

I couldn't help noticing his name tag. It said "TopDen". Never having seen a name like that before, I had to ask if that really was his name. He proudly said, "Yes! It is a Tibetan Buddhist name" and then pronounced it for me. I have to admit, it amused me because being a music buff, I'd noticed right away that Topden is only one letter away from Top Ten! At this point, it is worth mentioning that his colleague for the day was called Jin Jin. So, Topden and Jin Jin helped G on her way to getting her Swatch working again.

Why am I telling you this? Because, when we stopped to eat our shawarma lunch facing the beach, I suddenly wondered what Top Den was up to today. His name is stuck in my head now! With apologies to any Tibetan's who might read this. I love a good name! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.