Boxwood bonsai.....

      This is one of the bonsai I brought home yesterday.  It was styled and trimmed for the first time since I purchased the pre-bonsai plant a year ago.  I have let it grow out, thicken, and develop, waiting for it to be ready for this moment.
      Yesterday, I started working on the plant, and chose the front of the bonsai and it's line of flow.  After that, I began looking at each branch, evaluated it taper, the placement, the end growth, the over all picture.  I wired each branch, one at a time.  It took me almost all day (I need a lot more practice to be efficient at this skill) to work my way up.
     After lunch, I felt I need to have a review with David, (my bonsai master). I had to explain what I did, why I did it, where I was going, what would be the next cut and why.  I was nervous, but it was thrilling and exciting to get it.  I went back and finished the tree, moved the branches where I wanted them, removed the duplicate branches, the ones with poor taper, and set the top up for the Apex (it is sticking straight up, for now, as the tree continues to grow.
      It was an exciting day....   to go off on my own, make good decisions, for the right reasons, and some poorer decisions for the wrong reasons.  But, without going ahead and taking a risk, nothing is gained.  When you do risk, the reward is tremendous!  It was a great day, rewarding, and wonderful company!  I am so glad to have the trees back home again where I can look at them everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.