Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

A Lit Autumn Display

A cold morning for a bike ride, and the wind is cold as well. I head south. As I climb up on to the Seafield moor road, the puddles are still icy, but the road is dry. I head through Penicuik and up over the Moor road to West Linton. In the trees, there is a lot of frost on the road. From West Linton to Romannobridge and Lyne. I stop here to take a photo of Lyne Kirk. This is the halfway point, so I head back over the Meldon Hills to Eddleston, then take the Fala Toll road to the Top Gear road. Cycling over Mount Lothian is difficult, straight in to the wind. Its nice to get to Pomathorn, and the long descent to Auchendinny. The climb up Auchendinny Brae isn't great. There are roadworks 1/3 of the way up, and I have to stop. Once through this, its straightforward cycling home. 78.2km in all.

After lunch, my partner and I head down to Stockbridge. we just miss one bus in Morningside, so we stay on the bus and change to another bus in town. Ah, there's just as long a wait for a bus here as there is for the original one. We get to Stockbridge at the same time. We visit the charity shops that are open. Also coffee and cake. There is one more shop to visit after coffee. There is a slight wait for the bus. By now the sun has set. There are very posh street lights that light up this tree with autumn leaves.

A quiet evening sort of. I have work tomorrow. :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.