investigations of a dag

By kasty

freshers week groan

backblip

technically i'm old enough to have given birth to many of these folk. Not the blow up dolls per se.. they just have more personality than many.

Po faced I head to the post grad induction for the arts college (no more faculties and departments, all colleges and schools now.. weird). I meet charlotte who is in my course and encounter Harry who is from the states and 90 years ago. He was standing apart from everyone in a 30's style suit, tie, cap - the full great gatsby works. It was incredible and after a few introductory "ma'ams" I realised not an ironic look. Some people wandered off presuming he was mad, but I got chatting to him and he seemed very nice. Ended up taking him to the international ceilidh to drink irn bru and eat haggis. I fear for the culture shock when it comes.

Is it a bad habit, this talking to loners, waifs and strays? Often it works out well and I make good new friends and find them deeply interesting, but other times people can be just a bit nuts, or dull. In this case Harry from the Great Gatsby turned out to be very civil and nice, just experiencing a bit of culture shock from his small town in the states.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.