What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Derwent valley sunrise

Woke up to watch the grand prix this morning, and looked out of the window, everywhere was dense fog, which cleared over the next hour to create this wonderful etherial mist. I thought about going down to the edge of Derwentwater, but decided it might clear too quickly, and I was better off taking it from closeby.

As we have builders in and the house is covered in scaffolding, I climbed to the top of the scaffolding for this shot - just to get a little more elevation. (Although I hate heights, it wwas worth it for the view). The colour really is true - as the sun came over the mountains, the mist turned from cool blue, to golden peachy tones. I thought the sheep in the field added a certain something to the foreground too - along with the long tree shadows.

Thank goodness for pause buttons on TVs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.