Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Roystone Grange

Last visited about 25 years ago when I was at Uni, I've been meaning to go back for a while, so I planned a circular route and parked up halfway to Ballidon.

At the time of my previous visit I was doing a BEd 4 year degree course with History as my major subject, and since Roystone Grange has been a site of human habitation since Roman times I suppose it was thought to be a good place for a prospective school trip for those who were going to teach 8-11 year olds.  It was a very interesting day out for me as I had no experience of the Peak District at that time... not that we saw any views as it was thick with fog that day.

The main photo shows the farm just to the north of where the original Grange was sited. The footpath goes through the farmyard, but since there was a dog loose and barking its head off I decided not to have a look at it as we did all those years ago.  I'm not very brave with dogs in spite of having owned three.

The first extra shows a modern building onthe site of the Grange, and the second is the information notice on the wall.

6.2 miles
770 feet ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.