Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Tuesday - I is for Ice

Another night in the 20's left the yard looking like it had been dusted with sugar this morning  Knowing the sun was going to melt away the magic in short order, I bundled up and ran out with a macro lens.  Should have taken a tripod too as I would have been better able to get enough shots to do a much better focus stack.  Oh well.  As it is, I was able to cobble together 4 images to get a reasonably good showing of the frost.  The plant is a withered rudbeckia in my garden.

Lots of birds in the yard today, including a very fluffy American Goldfinch trying to stay warm.  Got a brief glimpse of a sapsucker again, too.  Maybe one of these days I'll be in position to get a shot of one...

Haven't bought any new camera gear in several years and starting to get a little twitchy.  I've been reading reviews on Sigma's new(ish) 100-400 lens which compares very well against Canon's 100-400 II lens that I am so envious of.  I'm thinking I'll rent one when I go out to AZ this January, give it a good workout and see if I like it well enough to buy.  Who knows...maybe I'll even get rid of my faithful old Big Daddy (Tamron 200-500) lens.  I never really use it since I got the Nikon 300 prime.  Much to ponder.

SIL started a second job this week, so she works from 7-4 at her permanent job then off to a part-time, seasonal job from 5-10.  I'm tired just thinking about it!  

I finally got over to our local butcher yesterday and put an order in for a turkey.  They sell turkeys that are raised organically and humanely in Pennsylvania, worth the extra money in my opinion.  We haven't done Thanksgiving at our house in six years, but with MIL and SIL both here now, it's time.  Which means time for one of those fabulous turkeys, too!  I ordered the smallest one they have since it is just us four, but I'm sure it will still be way too much.  

Thanks to ShirleyRay for hosting TinyTuesday this month!  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.