For the Love of a Tree

A huge tree grows in front of the nature center at Millbrook Marsh. There is a cute little red metal picnic table set right beneath it that I have never seen anyone ever sitting at. The tree turns color every autumn, and if you are there when the light is good, that tree shines out like the joy of a thousand orange angels.

Alas, the light wasn't what I might have hoped for on this morning, but I decided to visit the tree anyway. It is time, you know. You don't want to miss the show. Be the light as it may, it was time to see my tree.

So I parked my car by the old farm buildings and grabbed my camera for a few photos. I was wearing a skirt and top for work, with a winter jacket over it, and Crocs on my feet. I ended up kneeling on the frosty grass on my bare knee to get this shot and a few others.

I wouldn't mention such a mundane detail except that hours later, after I got home from work, I looked down at my knee and was puzzled to discover (now thawed) grass still stuck to my knee!

It made me laugh to think of clueless me, walking around work with grass stuck to me for all to see. But that's how I roll, I guess. You might be surprised how often I end up kneeling to capture photos of the beauties I see.

Perhaps it is a common urge to kneel before that which is beautiful. It can be a show of gratitude, which is in many cases thoroughly appropriate. And/or, as we say in my family, "Say one [a prayer] for me while you're down there." Ha! This is what passes for Methodist humor.  ;-)

Oh the adventures I get into for the love of a tree! I decided to pick a soundtrack song whose title is similar to the title I've given to this Blip. So here is a tune from the Peter, Paul, and Mary album Lifelines. The album is good, and I especially appreciate the lovely addition of Emmylou Harris for this tune, some of whose lyrics appear below: For the Love of It All.

For the love of it all
Like the stars and the sun
We are hearts on the rise
Separate eyes with the vision of one
No valley too deep, no mountain too tall
We can turn back the night with merely the light
From the love of it all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.