Straight Lines

This morning's stop on Rock Road, along Spring Creek, gave me the opportunity to check out the water flow across my favorite spillway. The water levels are significant, quite a bit higher than usual for this time of year.

I took a few minutes to photograph the water, which is always a zen experience. It raced eagerly across the spillway and down, but then the individual droplets leapt back up, like salmon, trying to climb back upstream. Who can understand the ways of water?

But then I zoomed out and looked at the reflections of the wooden structure along the spillway, and they seemed mighty fine indeed. There is just something about straight lines that soothes me.

If all the lines are straight, there is order and harmony. The world makes sense. But in the water-world, the lines reflected back all wobbly and weird. These waters will not be governed by the rules of straight lines.

A soundtrack for an image of lines, both straight and wobbly? How about this one, which is a life-long favorite of mine, straight from a master: Johnny Cash, with I Walk the Line.  I am also including a gorgeous cover by Travis Tritt and Marty Stuart, performed at Johnny Cash's memorial concert. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.