WidWed: North of England Ophthalmological Society

Today I decided to commit "Monolithic Dual Avicide"- aka metaphorically "killing two birds with one stone" for my blip.

For at least two limited periods since being founded in 1914, the North of England Ophthalmological Society (try saying that after a few pints!!) - or NEOS for short - has commissioned and sold ties or scarves for its members. In spite of now having been retired from the eye clinic for 4 years I'm still a member of the Society (in fact, having been an annual President on two previous occasions I now have the honour of being a Life Member).

The Society is currently considering having a new batch of ties made up, so for the benefit of other members who may not be familiar with past designs, I dug two from my wardrobe and photographed them so that I can send the photos to members for their information. I thought it best to start with a (vertical) wide-angle shot of the ties, then to add close-ups of their respective emblems. The emblems are in fact reproductions of the Society logo so I included a sketch of that, showing the meaning of the heraldic symbols.

Having produced this composite image, including a wide-angle shot, I reckoned it could hopefully satisfy the Wide-Angle Wednesday challenge as the Society name starts with "N" for November. So one image has served two purposes.

Note: (I had to look these up!). The left eye of the Egyptian god Horus represents healing, and Aesculapius is the Greek god of medicine.

Thanks as always to Bobsblips for hosting WidWed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.