Autumn cliche!

Yes, it's a cliche and one that I hadn't intended to be my blip for today, but who can resist a colourful autumn shot, specially when it's your first of the season?

Had to nip out for some milk and with local supermarket closed for 'refurbishment', decided to go out to a smaller shop (part of a chain), via Salisbury's oldest (Victoria) Park, the oldest trees, some oriental, planted from that era.

As I often take pictures for the Parks dept. that have jurisdiction over them, I needed no excuse and took along my favourite lens for such - the 70-200mm f2.8, mine is a straightforward Sigma Apo one, without vibration control, but which has probably earned me more money than any other lens, as it's a godsend at gigs, festivals and carnivals etc.

I look for creativity and patterns and try and use the narrow depth of focus to its best advantage - and on my D7000 it becomes, in effect, a 105-300mm f2.8 lens, yet you can stop it down too, of course. The Sigma has an advantage over the Nikon equivalent (apart from being a LOT cheaper) in that it focusses a lot closer, with a max reproduction ratio of 1:3, to which I'll add a portion of extension tube to get in even closer but which still allows for a very comfortable shooting distance.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.