Now I Know my ABC's...

I tried something new with several gourds last Summer. I got the idea from the internet.

The theory was...if you scrape away the "skin", and lop off the top of the gourd and fill it with dye...then what you didn't scrape away...was supposed to turn into the color of the dye. (In this case...it was going to be green.)

The problem? It didn't work. It took me hours to do the scraping...leaving all the letters of the alphabet. Plus, the dye kept getting absorbed into the gourd, so I had to keep adding more dye. And...to top it off...I had to endure the pungent odor of drying-out gourd. (Very ripe.)

The letters didn't "pop" like they were supposed to, so I made them pop in maize and blue (University of Michigan), and green and white (Michigan State University.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.