WildPlace Blips

By WildPlace

West Highland Way - Day 5

Inversnaid to Crianlarich, 13 miles

As per the forecast it was raining steadily when I got up this morning and showed no sign of letting up. So got togged up and out into it.

Wow that section from Inversnaid to the end of Loch Lomond is hard going!! Lots of scrambling up and down, over rocks (that were very slippery because of all the rain). the guide book describes it as "torturous" and I have to agree!

I was so happy to arrive, a big soggy mess, at Beinglas Farm - it had taken me nearly 4 hours to get there and i'd run out of water after about three hours. I peeled off my soggy waterproof trousers and jacket, fished out my (thankfully) dry, warm jacket and sat for an hour drinking coffee and a water.

Onwards to Crianlarich. Wet, so wet. Muddy - the kind of mud that tries to suck the boots right off your feet. Then there were the streams that had turned into gushing rivers that you had no option but to just walk right through. 

I was happy to arrive at Crianlarich and made my way to the Youth Hostel which luckily has a very good (but quite stinky) drying room - hopefully my boots will be dry by morning!

Todays Blip is approaching Doune Byre Bothy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.