G for Gelato

G for Gelato is the name but they also make one of the best pizzas I've ever had. I was wandering around downtown Toronto's Old Town district before my teaching gig at George Brown College when I wandered by this place. They had a $10 Calabrese Pizza and Pop deal that sounded good. It was better than good, it was truly amazing and delicious - and huge. Served with a knife and fork and a mini jug of spiced oil with peppers, I dug in and was delighted. I chatted with my server (the one at left clearing a table) about one of their other specials and said I'll try that next week. A sad look came over her face when she told me that wouldn't be possible because the restaurant was closing and today was their last day. NO! I found one of the best pizzas I've ever had and....and....but... AUGH! The landlord is putting them out for something else (somebody willing to pay a much higher rent, I suspect). I told the server that I sincerely hoped the found a new home for their business soon. She agreed. I finished up and, because I was facing the gelato bar - and because the place wouldn't be there next time, I ordered a pistachio gelato for dessert. Like the pizza, it was delightful. Damn, I've only been their for an hour on one day, and already I'm going to miss this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.