WildPlace Blips

By WildPlace

West Highland Way - Day 7

Bridge of Orchy to Kingshouse, 12 miles

Got the bus from Tyndrum back to the Bridge of Orchy, my finishing point yesterday. There were quite a few of us on the bus and lots of different nationalities.

A cool, misty morning and uphill to start (photo). Later on the mist cleared and it warmed up a little but the midges were brutal and I had to get out my bug jacket.

Fantastic scenery across the edge of Rannoch Moor. Walked with Gill for a wee while. Arrived Kingshouse early afternoon following a brief stop at the Glencoe Ski place for coffee.

The bunkhouse at Kingshouse is amazing, new and very comfortable. Gill couldn't get a bed as it's fully booked (I booked in July) so she's camping just 100 yards away by the river. As I also have my camping gear with me we decide to have dinner together so I take my stove and pots and pans (and wine) down to her camp.

No sooner is our food cooked and we sit down to eat than the midges come out - gazillions of the little buggers. We wolfed down our food and I dashed back over to the hostel and Gill jumped in her tent saying she wasn't going to get back out until morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.