stuartjross

By stuartjross

Fun in the snow

I often girn at folk taking photos two paces from the car. It looks very lazy and you think why even bother.
Today I suppose I was doing the hill walking equivalent. The Cairngorm ski car park is already about 2000 feet up the mountain so when you jump out of the car the remaining ascent is a very cheap way to get to 4000 feet and is a shameful way to tick off a Munro. The mountain on this side has been trashed by decades of ski related development and it is simply too accessible. Its a mess. Gain the summit and lose sight of the ugly towers and you enter the edge of amazing wilderness.
From Cairngorm you can continue easily, in good weather, to Ben MacDui, Munro No 2, and the second highest Mountain in Scotland. Cairngorm is No 5.
Mhairi and the boys took the train while I walked and gave me a wave from the tearoom window as the dogs and I marched past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.