WildPlace Blips

By WildPlace

The Askernish Midge Experience

OK, so the event was really called The Askernish Shopping Experience. The local golf course was having their annual open competition and invited local traders along to have a table, ply their wares etc. So I took them up on their offer.

I knew as soon as I walked out through the house door to load my stuff into my wee van that it was going to be a very midgie day. Warm, moist, not a breath of wind. The little blighters were on me and biting before i'd walked four feet. for something so small they don't half give you a painful nip.

Chucked stuff in the van and ran back into the house for bug jacket. Packed insect repellant into handbag. Headed off to get set up. The other stallholders arrived and they too quickly donned headnets. It was really quite funny, we must have looked most odd and maybe even a bit threatening sitting behind out tables in our anti-bug wear.

Still it turned out quite a good day, always good to catch up with people, lots of folks stopped by my table for a chat and I picked up a new customer (a shop) who wants to retail my cards. will deliver to them on Monday.

I didn't actually take this photo, my friend took it with my phone - me in bug jacket behind stall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.