Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

J J Harris Warehouse

Yesterday I finally got started on scratch building the J J Harris Warehouse for the Sn3 Dolores layout.  We have been trailing for three weeks and the jet lag is finally gone.

What you see is my portable folding work table in the train room.  The building is just too long to fit in my man/train cave work area.

The blip is just the foam core sub-structure for the warehouse I just finished.  Years ago I bought S scale (3/16ths) plans for several actual warehouses I want to add to the Dolores scene.  There are no kits available so it is scratch building - sort of do-it-yourself.  My first step is to build a scale sub-structure from 3/16th black foam core.  That way if there is any cracks in my final sizing, the black will cover it up - sort of.  I have scale wood board and batten siding, shiplap siding, and corrugated roofing materials.  After I cut pieces of the right size, I will cover each viewable side (the building goes up against the backdrop at the rear of the layout) with scale siding and  scale roofing.  The roof substrate is 1/8" foam core I had and used as the 3/16ths stuff would be too thick.  

Of course I need to locate the plastic windows and doors I have according to the plan elevations.  Just cut a hole in the siding and in the window goes.    Add some clear plastic in the back and the black foam core will disappear.

I do have to say that building the dormers in 3D from just a couple of 2D elevations was a challenge.  But the siding and roofing will cover a multitude of sins.  Nice to use materials I bought 7 years ago!  All that stuff comes in handy -----eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.