Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

J J Harris Warehouse ready to paint

Today I finished up the construction of the J J Harris warehouse for Dolores on the Sn3 layout.  It goes at the very back of the layout, against the backdrop - so I could not build the whole depth, and cut the length by quite a bit to fit.  What is not in the blip is the pipe that runs from the tallest little house down to the loading dock - . I believe that this was for loading grain, etc - probably into boxcars.  But - not sure.   It was made from 1/8" round styrene.

The building had several changes over the years, and the dormers are actually sided with different material than the main warehouse as they were later additions.  The warehouse is sided with board and batten siding while the single dormer is plain lapped siding, and the tall dormers are metal siding with raised seams.  Since I could not find the scale metal siding with the raised seams, I made my own with a piece of styrene and scale TINY strips of styrene.  Hope not to have to do that again.

The black forms in the front of the warehouse are the loading docks, yet to be covered with 2 by 12 lumber.  I will attach them to the warehouse, but need to wait until I paint the warehouse and do the weathering.

The warehouse was painted, as far as I can find in photographs and kind suggestions from the Sn3 community, in white paint.  Very dirty and worn by 1950.  The window frames are not in the model yet and will perhaps be painted a different color - maybe a very faded mineral red.  Seems that white and mineral red were the cheapest paint in 1950.

BTW the blue tape in the windows is a mask to protect the black foam core beneath when I spray the structure.  Once the windows and glass are in, the black will just ride the insides. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.