A time for everything

By turnx3

Golden carpet

Friday
It was a grey start, but by the time I got out to the”Y” for a swim late morning, the sun had put in an appearance, though it was quite cold. On my way, I stopped off in Swaim Park, where I came across this wonderful golden carpet. I didn’t know what the trees were, so I had to do a bit of research on returning home. I believe I’m right in saying they are bald cypress trees. The bald cypress is a deciduous conifer (like the Larches), and is native to wet areas of the lower and middle Mississippi Valley drainage basin, the south Atlantic and Gulf Coastal states, and especially Florida. Its northernmost native range is the extreme southern tips of Indiana and Illinois, but hardy and tough, the tree will adapt to a wide range of soil types, and is extensively planted in dry areas throughout the Eastern United States as an ornamental tree, particularly in parks, around lakes, along roads.
The russet-red Fall colour of its lacy needles are one of its striking characteristics. As a deciduous conifer, the leaves/needles of Baldcypress drop off in autumn, and its cones are round balls that release their seeds in autumn and winter. The Baldcypress family is also related to the Dawn Redwood and Giant Redwood.
One year ago: Abstract Thursday: Fauvism

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.