Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

My "tern" subtitled From birds to bikes

It was all go in Motueka today with a morning tide bringing in plenty of birds to feed and try to get a photograph, a Lego show at the Memorial Hall and the second year of the Abel Tasman cycle race with lots of cones and volunteers pointing the way as they raced from Richmond to Kaiteriteri or parts thereof.
Blipmate and I did our usual Saturday morning outing down by the floodgates where we saw shags, mystery fins that may have been fish or seal, oycs, white faced heron and a tern. I thought it was only one ducking and diving but Lizellen said no it was two. We were on opposite sides of the inlet where the tide pushes in to the inner estuary.
Although a bit soft I have put up a white fronted tern as it is a first for me- not to see it but to actually get something half decent.
They are usually in flocks and are very common around NZ. They dive for their fish and are very fast. I did surprise myself by getting quite a few shots of it but not sharp enough.
Extra of a white faced heron taking off and the leading pelaton flashing past us. They weren't interested in birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.