Down she came

Our iconic Hydro Grand Hotel, (a blip from more than 7 years ago), built 1912, was reduced to rubble today.  Myself, oldTimer, my3sons, loveofshoes were there at 6.30am but not too much happening then, just getting the roading organised and knocking down the little balconeys.  Blippers Mario (his blip is awesome) & MrsPuff arrived along with every man and his dog.  An absolutely splendid day for the event.  I took 700 plus photos today, mind you I was shooting on Rapid.  So understandably I haven't had time (or the inclination) to go through them yet.  Just picked out a few that kind of tells the story.  If you have the time I've put five in extras.
1.  The grand old lady before work started
2.  Half way down
3.  Take a look at the wallpaper
4.  Rubble, machinery and water
5.  Finally, and this is the one everyone was waiting for is the dome coming down.  Everyone clapped and cheered.  

We felt some nostalgia as it was lowered, as this was one of our stomping grounds in our youth, in fact I was caught by Mr Plod for underage drinking, oops!!  
But it was in a terrible state and had become a fire and safety risk.
They started around 8am and it was down by 3.30pm.  Those operators surely can make their machinery hum, hats off to them.  
At some stage I will put a coverage into Flickr but not tonight.....
I'm knackered !!

I'm terribly thankful and happy to see my Astrantia up in the top three of Popular - thanks you all so much, thrilled.

Watching our Rugby League boys play Fiji in the World Cup - theyre not looking too flash, second half just started and the score is us 0 - Fiji 2.

Rainie
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.