Getting started

It’s a long, long time since I did a ‘real’ jigsaw. I have a great computer program (Jigsaws Galore) where you can make jigsaws from your own photos and play about with piece sizes and shapes etc. Quite addictive and very relaxing, but more time looking at a screen, when I really should be doing less. Then, I have been inspired by Wendles56 blips about jigsaws, she seems to always have one on the go.

So, out came a jigsaw that has never been opened, although I bought it in Canada in 2009, when I had a day to myself in Toronto and spent a lot of it in the Art Gallery of Ontario, gazing in awe at the huge paintings by Lauren S. Harris and others from the circle of artists who became known as the Group of Seven. I bought a book and a jigsaw, rather stupidly as we then had a problem fitting them into our luggage.

I have always been concerned about where to keep a jigsaw whilst it is in the making. Wendy said she always bought 1,000 piece puzzles that would fit on a coffee table. But that didn’t really help, as there was no size on the box of this 1,000 piece puzzle. Then I found out something (it’s good to find out something new every day). There is a standard for jigsaws and almost all 1,000 piece puzzles are the same size, 27inch by 19inch – amazing! How have I got by without knowing that!!

So Gordon brought down and put together the spare table we have, which comes out when children are here, so they have somewhere to draw and craft etc. The jigsaw box was opened and the pieces tipped out. I think this is going to be a little trickier than working on screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.