SILLY ME

I show here my jacket which has a funny hostory to tell.
In the times that I travelled in the big cities of Europe to buy books for my antiquarian bookshop I liked to buy my clothes in the town where ever I happened to be. Because I did not (and  still do not) fancy to travel to a city for shopping.
How I got into the shop in Paris where I did buy this jacket I do not remember any longer. It really was ages ago. In what street the shop was? Why I did like the fabric and the print is a riddle to me. And it was very expensive too.
Anyway, when I got home and tried it on, the size was far too big. And at that time oversized clothes were then fashionable.
I did send it back with the question if I could have a smaller size.
That was allright with them. But when the smaller size arrived I did not like the jacket at all, far too extravagant, had I still a wish for a bohemian look, and for what occasion I  had imagined I would want wear it? I never did wear it, but it stayed in my wardrobe, for decades, now and then I looked at it, and had to smile.  I even brought it to Germany and it seemingly had only waited for this special silly Saturday.
For my extra photo I put it on. Piet Hein took many pictures and I selected one.
The weather horrible, so no walk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.