Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 7

"Well this could be the last time 
This could be the last time 
Maybe the last time 
I don't know, oh yes, I know!"

Appologies to Richards and Jagger for changing their words!

When I took shots today I suspected it would be the last time I was blipping a kingfisher for some time however it was such a good fun event I had to make it my blip today.

So! Yesterday afternoon we had cruised for miles without seeing a moored boat. We joked that one would be moored in the place we wanted to be. Sure enough, as we came round the corner we saw the boat. Luckily our desired spot was a good few boat lengths away from it!

This morning 4 photographers on board were up and dressed before 7, it wasn't daylight. We removed the top section of the glass on all the windows on the starboard side of the boat and bagged our positions. 

We waited.

I had assured Kat this was THE place to be, I was proved right as she peeped out of her curtains when she got out of bed in the gloom! I sat with the walkie-talkie in my hand to buzz the other end of the 58' boat if I saw anything.

BUZZ! 

4 people moved to their windows, 4 lenses got raised to their open spaces, 4 shutters clicked and clicked and clicked and clicked. This proceedure happened 3 times between 8am and 9am!

We all got shots! This time I borrowed The Mates EF70-200mm f/4L USM instead of my own 70-300 which isn't always giving me good results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.