I've Seen Better Views

Much to my disappointment I was in a lot of pain this morning, so I had to go back to Torbay Hospital via A&E. A lot of waiting about of course but I was admitted to the surgical ward. I was fortunate that the scan was arranged very quickly and as the report only takes half an hour I was hopeful of having a result and either having a treatment plan or being able to go home. Trouble is it's Saturday and there's only one surgical doctor on so it was 8.30 in the evening before the report got looked at. I'd been nil by mouth except clear fluids all day.

Anyway the report said I had a vertebra wedge fracture, that's often a crush fracture but could be caused by a hard slam. That and the associated muscle pain was what's been giving me grief. So no treatment needed just pain killers and no more tennis or strenuous exercise for six weeks.

I didn't get home until about 10pm and I've now had something to eat and a cup of tea!

The photo is taken using a fisheye app on my ancient iPhone pushed up against a dirty window on the 6th floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.