Broom Broom!

I had quite a bit of pain this morning and I was aware that it felt a bit different than before. About twenty years ago I had a kidney stone and this pain seem a bit more like that, not as strong but I thought I'd better get it checked out. I phoned my GP early but they didn't have an appointment so I went to the local Minor Injuries Unit who were very efficient.They found that blood was present in my urine and arranged for me to be seen at Torbay Acute Medical Unit. The place was heaving so much that they didn't have enough space to seat all the people that were waiting. I eventually got checked out but the doc wanted to speak to a urologist. This wasn't possible because she was in theatre so my great surprise they wanted to admit me to the Urology Ward. 

I've spent my career keeping people out of hospital (in mental health services) and I was quite shocked that it could be so easy to get admitted to a general ward without having had any good reason presented to me. What were they going to do? They might do a scan tomorrow apparently. I certainly wasn't going to go along with that as a plan.

When I realised a bit earlier in the day that the only blip I was going to get was in the hospital, I furtively took out my phone and photographed this broomy floor duster thing which I could have spent hours looking at if I hadn't a book with me. 

Funny thing is that after being in hospitall day, having nil by mouth and no painkillers since 9am I seem to be symptom free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.