Cooper's Hawk ....

Despite the weather ... or maybe because of it ... I got a lot accomplished today.  Stuff I was waiting to do on a rainy day. 

But first a little about my picture of this beautiful Cooper's Hawk ....

As I was showing Richard a quilt pattern that I just bought to make as a gift he suddenly said .... "Oooooo!" and grabbed for his camera.  And that got me up and grabbing for my camera as well. 

I looked out the front window and he/she was just sitting in our birch tree looking around.  All of the birds and squirrels had scattered by this time but he was still looking for his/her lunch!  We both took some pictures through the dirty glass and then I slowing started opening the side window (it cranks out) hoping the whole time that he/she wouldn't fly off.  I was able to get about 10-15 shots before I moved out of the way for Richard ... he still takes pictures everyday even though he doesn't post them to blip any longer.  The pictures I took of this gorgeous hawk were the only pictures I took today!  Thank goodness he/she came for a visit!  

After we both got some pictures of him/her we shooed him/her away and he/she flew off without any lunch! Sorry!!

With the weather being downright miserable I used the time to have a little clean out of some items I have been trying to go through for a while now.  I started with the hall closet .... pulling out all my tote bags and purses.  I was able to get rid of a lot of them ... just making room for more!  

Next up were my sewing patterns ....  I have been sewing and accumulating patterns for more than 30 years!  I not real organized with a lot of things around the house but my patterns and quilt books have always been an exception.  I have two binders that hold the pattern sleeves (organized by pattern type .... skirts, pants, crafts, etc.) and a large filing cabinet that holds the patterns themselves .... separated by pattern company.   

As I went through the pattern sleeves .... pulling out the one's I will be getting rid of .... I could remember each garment I made and the fabric I used.  Most of the patterns dated back to the 80's and 90's with the oldest being from 1982 .... older than some of you reading this! I pulled out patterns from men's wear (I made an entire suit for Richard once!) to lingerie .... and everything in between!

After going through and pulling out the pattern sleeves I separated them by pattern company and put them in numerical order ... maybe I'm a bit too organized!   (I thought of something else to say here, but I will spare you!) Tomorrow I will go through the cabinet and pull the patterns out.  All these ... plus the tote bags and purses ... will be donated to our local Goodwill shop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.