(a back blip)
On Kauai it was interesting seeing so many wild flowers and creatures which are unfamiliar to me.  As usual I took dozens of photos of flowers but decided that this blip would be some things that I saw on a short walk near the hotel. I’m not sure what the little lizard that was scuttling along the top of the flowers is.  It was about 10 cms long and less than half the size of the Brown anole which has an orange flap on its throat called a dewlap that extends to attract a mate or display against a rival.  There were other lizards around so probably he was trying to attract a female.
The black Thread-waisted-wasp on the ground looks very fragile but apparently has tremendous strength and can tackle large caterpillars in which it lays its eggs.   The stabilmentums or zigzag bands of silk and orb web of the Black and Yellow Garden Spider attracted my attention but it was hard to get a good photo.  I don’t know if any spiders in UK have stabilmentums but this is the first I’ve seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.