Fiaker

I had a free day in Vienna before an evening flight so I decided to make the most of it. Up early and out I put my luggage in a locker at the station that the airport train leaves from. Then I walked round to the Hundertwasserhaus. It was bitterly cold and raining but my newly bought coat kept out the worst. I then walked along beside the Danube Canal to one of the bridges and round to the Prater amusement park - that's where the famous Prater wheel carries visitors high over the park for views of the city - rather drab yesterday I'd have thought. Back to the city centre for a mooch around the cathedral square and the Graben where I stopped for lunch. I covered some of the royal palace as we did on the walking tour and saw a couple of the Lipizzan stallions at the Spanish Riding School.

The blip shows a fiaker, a traditional horse-drawn carriage, which gives tours around the city centre. You'll see that the driver is wrapped up well - they are out all day without shelter and it wasn't even snowing.

I'm back-blipping this. I got home at midnight and fell into bed; it's been a tremendous conference and yesterday I recorded 22,000 steps so I'll be taking today rather gently

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.