Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A perfect fall afternoon

Here is today's blip posted on yesterday's page, today. Due to a glitch in my time-space continuum, my October 6 blip landed on October 7. Following, is my October 7 blip, on the October 6 blip page. As well, this the first time I've blipped while the sun was shining.

Today's weather was absolutely stunning, and drawing inspiration from LocalFoodLover's blip, I decided that an afternoon outing to Bellewood Acres for sunshine, farm fresh apples, cider, and apple butter would be perfect.

For my east coast apple-eating friends, your apples are very likely from Washington state, the largest producer of apples in our nation. Bellewood was busy and bustling today. In addition to their huge apple orchard, a large field of pumpkins was ripe for the plucking. (That's Mt. Baker in the background. I have this exact same view of the mountain from where I'm typing right now.) To this day, pumpkin patches still conjure up fond memories of meandering down California's Highway 1, headed to Half Moon Bay to pick up pumpkins when the boys were little.

With a few pounds of Honeycrisp, Galas (my fave), apple butter, and fresh cider, I headed home. Oh, and a few pounds of deliciously tart Gravensteins. Someone I know loves apple crisp, and there is no better apple for the job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.