Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

It's time to move on

Nothing enables you to relive your entire life quite like packing up to move: sifting through everything you own, handling each and every item, weeding out the excess. It's interesting, in an indescribable way, to see your possessions arranged within the confines of a 14 foot truck box. Here you are! So neatly bundled up. Mobile, once again.

I never considered myself a "transient", yet in comparison to some friends who have lived practically their entire lives in one house, I suppose I might qualify as one. Looking back, my biggest move, in terms of sheer miles, was coming out from New Jersey to California. My most chaotic, and perhaps ill-conceived move, was moving from California to Washington (I love WA, please don't misinterpret). I've now stayed put in one house, a house I designed and built, for the past fifteen years. Is this next move, my last? Hard to tell. I'm excited about the new house, new neighborhood, and new opportunities. I can't think of a single downside to the decision.

Transitions are often an extremely emotional time for many folks, myself included. You have to let go, while pushing forward. I don't mean to get maudlin here, just a bit reflective, as I feel that's important. I'm a dyed-in-the-wool sentimentalist, and cherish past memories. They will always have a special corner in my heart. But ultimately, as one dear friend once told me, it's not so much about where you've been, it's where you're going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.