Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

My Lola Malu

Some of you may recall that, not too long ago, our new puppy, Lola Malu, was not much bigger than a small rump roast, fitting easily into the crook of my arm. Now approaching the ripe old age of six months, she is tall, lean and lanky, very athletic, and extremely silly and playful.

This shot captures Lola in a rare, quiet and contemplative mood (sort of her version of that classic JFK pose). We'd just finished a few rounds of tennis (I hit a tennis ball with a racket, she runs and gets it), walked out to get the mail, (only to realize it was a Federal Holiday), drove to the hardware store and back, and now, here we were in the kitchen. Resourceful gal that she is, I could almost see what her nimble puppy mind was thinking: do I want the chew stick or the blue rubber ball? Can I have a cookie? What about a piece of smoked Gouda? (that's what I was snacking on at the time). I might go take a nap.

With our impending move into town, I sometimes wonder how Lola will adapt to a "normal-sized" yard after having the run of our 5 acres, plus her mother's 5 acres directly next door. Clearly, there will be big adjustments for everyone, with reduced ability to RUN RUN RUN being one of the primary changes. I know with a little time, we'll settle quickly into our new routines. Plus, Lola's personality and mine mesh so well together that we can both be happy wherever we are, as long as we are with each other. That's my little Lola Girl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.