Seriously, Mr. Gollum?

Work has been hectic and dramatic today! And it looks like it will be more of the same tomorrow.

A lovely dog walk in the dark and then home to feed dogs.

Gollum has this funny thing with his food... He likes food. He will work for his for his food in training, He will search for his food if I spread it on the lawn. He will eat treats if I offer them to him. He will clean Hero and Biscuit's food bowls, when they are done eating. Basically he does not have any issues with food.

And yet, when I feed him in his bowl, he gets bored with eating and leaves his food to check up on the Guinea Pigs or have a cuddle from me. It is just so boring to eat from the bowl, that he can't be bothered. 

I am not sure, when he leaves his food, if he is planning to come back and eat more, once he has done whatever he left to do, but since he share a home with 2 other dogs, who are not too distracted to focus on their dinners, then that's not an option. The food is long gone, when he decides to return. 

So I have tried to make the food so yummy, that it's impossible to leave... Apparently that kind of yummy does not exist. 

I have tried to let him eat in a closed puppy pen, so he can't leave until he is done eating. He can still stop eating and wait by the gate to be let out to investigate.... and stop eating. But at least his food is not eaten by the other dogs, when it is secured in a puppy pen.

So this is where we ended today... He ate half of his food and then waited to be let out of the puppy pen. I took the bowl and offered him the rest of the food, which he ate, whilst I held his bowl for him. He was then let out.

I hope this is not his new thing! That I need to hold his bowl for him, to get him to eat!

Most days it is not a problem as he has his food as rewards in training, but obviously he does need a day off from training sometimes... I guess he likes the challenge of earning his meal. 

He is such a silly boy!

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.