Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Coming Out Of My Bipolar Closet

We all have something we choose to hide.  Some drink too much. Some sleep with their boss.  Some blow smoke out bathroom windows.  And some have a mental illness.

I can't speak for alcoholics, sexaholics, and closet nicotine addicts, but once I got up the courage to unlock the bipolar door in my mind and tell people what I had been going through, my life has been much brighter.

Coming out was not an overnight decision.  It took time for me to realize there was nothing for me to be ashamed of, that I wasn't a character defect, that it didn't matter what other people thought or said (especially since they were most likely hiding something, too).

Finding out there were thousands of others out there like me, even celebrities, helped.  When I was ready, I made my entry into society.  And over time, I've felt better and better.  

I believe it's always best to be yourself, even if it means taking a risk.  And when it comes to mental health, there's a lot to risk by being honest.

So many people are out there suffering in the privacy of their own head, and I'd like to help as many as I can.  Because I've been there, locked away.  And I know what it feels like to be lonely and scared.  I want to tell them that it's okay to come out.  And whenever I come across someone who is depressed, I end up telling my story and giving them my therapist's contact information.

It seems to help a little bit - the same way people on the outside helped me when I was locked in.

So come out, come out, bipolar peeps, wherever you are.  Hugs, support and love are waiting for you at your door.  Share your secret with people who you feel are safe, and soon your world will be a brighter place!

~Laurie


Today marks the first day of Mental Health Awareness Week in the United States.  I dedicate this week to, thus, raising awareness here and around the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.