Capital adventures

By marchmont

Sidetracked

Not a bad day.  Visited the Manor in the morning. All well there. Did some housework and started more Christmas baking. I thought about doing a some outside stuff and then thought better of it.

My task of the list was to check, sort, transfer/delete pictures of my phones. I got sidetracked by starting to investigate the previous owners of this house, brought on my a shot of gravestones in Mt Vernon Cemetery.

The former owners were members of the Pelosi family who are linked to the S Luca's of Musselburgh 0f ice cream fame. And they are actually L. Scappaccio. The sidetrack ing got going when I looked at Pelosi on Scotland's people and discovered a birth in Inverurie in the v early 1900's Turned out by 1911 that family were living at 89 Grassmarket.  Every family in that stair were Italian, many street musicians. The son listed there was probably killed when the 'Arandora Star' taking Italians to internment in Canada was torpedoed at the start of WW2. Another branch of the Pelosi family own The Brooklyn Cafe in Glasgow's Southside where I've had many a fry up brunch. Then there is Nancy Pelosi in the US, but that's another story.

I multitasked watching more episodes of 'The Vietnam War'. Fascinating, and horrifying at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.