Capital adventures

By marchmont

Going, going ...

As work progresses on the New Waverley development this view of St Andrew's House will soon be gone.

I went to bed very late/very early as I finished sorting photos from yesterday and watched the last episodes of 'The Vietnam War'. Being the late 60's to the end bit these were events I remembered. Anti war protests, the draft, Nixon, 'the plumbers', My Lai, the execution of the VietCong prisoner by the S Vietnamese, the napalm and that famous photo of the burned Vietnamese girl (who survived and is living in Canada). And of course at the end the chaotic evacuation from Saigon, with helicopters landing on roofs. I had to stay till the end, at after 1 am.

But I woke full of beans at 7.10. The joy soon dissipated as I saw it was cold, damp and very dreich. However, a good day at work with the bonus of another meeting cancelled tomorrow.

The gift of time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.