Plus ça change...

By SooB

Make hay

A sleep-deprived night (warm bed won out over quiet) followed by an early start to get to Mr B's flight. Horrendous traffic - to think commuters put up with that every day (there, lonely, in their seven-seater wagons... that whole journey I only saw two other cars with two people in!)

After a quick bit of work, gardening. It was foggy and chilly this morning, but happily some warming digging was the first job. The laying out of countless bulbs and their planting was done post-lunch once the sun put in an appearance. Later, more digging. (I should probably note that my shoulders are a bit grumbly about all that.)

Last winter's gardening was mostly about hard landscaping, since I knew I wouldn't be around so much in spring/summer to look after plants; but next year is shaping up differently so I can get on with some proper gardening. It feels good to be planning planting, not gravel.

Meanwhile, the rabbits are appreciating the fruits of my limited gardening labours: they lunched on lettuce, broccoli leaves, grass, parsley and vine leaves - all from the garden. Though tonight (when I finally remembered to take a blip) was all about the hay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.