Deception

Yesterday the European Banking Authority and the European Medicines Agency announced they're moving from London to Amsterdam and Paris respectively (or vice versa - my brain is tired) as a consequence of Brexit.

While this has been anticipated for a while (expect by those in denial over Brexit), the voting on the new locations and announcement of the results took place yesterday, so it was a big event.

Tonight I looked for a story about it on the BBC website. I looked in all the obvious pages - UK, Europe, Business, Politics - but nothing.

This is how it works. This is how people are kept ill informed.

Then I went to the Irish Times' website. Yes, easy to find an article about it. Why would it be newsworthy in Dublin but not in London? I'll let you draw your own conclusions.

This morning I was helping my teenage colleague with a consumer complaint about Marks & Spencer. The claim is they are refusing to deliver some of the items they sell online (Christmas hampers in this case) to Forres and Buckie in Moray (Northeast Scotland).

Discrimination of this type often happens, but usually in the more remote parts of the country. Those towns are 3 hours north of Edinburgh (unless it's snowing, when an extra 5 minutes should be allowed) but certainly are not remote.

By coincidence I was reading my National at lunchtime, and there's an article about discriminatory delivery charges. Moray certainly gets a mention. That's all I can tell you. The advanced Gaelic class is still almost a year away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.