Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Elm Tree Visitor

When I got up this morning, Pipersdad said, "Grab your camera and come outside."  So, of course I did and there was this beautiful Great Horned Owl just hanging out in one of our backyard trees.  I took lots of pictures before I realized that I was really cold, outside in my pajamas and barefooted in 34F (1.1C) degree weather.  So I came in, dressed warmer, and went back out to find him still there.  Of course, I took lots more pictures.  There was no need to hurry, though, because he's still there now, 10 hours later.  He slept all day and now that the sun has set he's starting to move around.  ....Actually, I just went out to check and he's finally gone.  The tree he roosted in is the squirrel tree.  Now that the leaves are gone I can count 4 nests and there are always squirrels running through the branches.  They didn't seem to be worried about the visitor but I was, I hope he didn't take any with him when he left!  I wonder if he'll be back....stay tuned.  Many thanks to Cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesdays!

I am grateful for all the different birds that visit our yard even though we live in a suburban neighborhood.  The owl makes #19 since I started counting in September.  :-))

Happy Thanksgiving to all who will be celebrating tomorrow!  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.