It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas!!

If you’d like to sing along, click here.

The first day of Bath Christmas Market!

What follows is just a rambling personal anecdote from today that I wanted to record in my journal for myself, so please don’t feel the need to read.

On my way into Bath this morning on the bus, I was sitting next to an elderly lady who had flown down from Edinburgh to visit family. We got into conversation and she asked me if I would help her contact her daughter-in-law who was meeting her at the bus station, as she had a new phone and she didn’t know how to use it. I managed to find the number on her phone for her (a case of the blind leading the blind!), and she then asked me to make the actual call as she was hard of hearing and found the bus very noisy. There was no reply so I left a message, hoping that her daughter-in-law would get it.

For the rest of our journey into Bath, D continued to tell me her life story, including the time she got talking to a lady at Sherborne railway station who then rescued D’s rucksack for her when she accidentally dropped it down on to the railway line. D and her new friend then travelled together to London by train, during which time D asked for her name and address so that she could send her a thank you note for coming to her aid. It was only when she showed the contact details to her family, that she found out that her new friend was none other than Madonna! When she’d told D her surname was Ritchie, D had remarked that she had a friend with the same name, but D never made the connection!!

Anyhow, D’s daughter-in-law still hadn’t returned the call, so I offered to stay on the bus to the end of the line so that I could help D with her luggage, and make sure that she got off at the right place to wait for her family to collect her. We continued our chatting while we waited at the bus station, and D is now officially my new best friend, she thought I was 20 years younger than I actually am! (I think she may be a little short-sighted as well as hard of hearing!). In the end I had to leave D as I was running out of time and had errands to run before catching the bus back in order to resume nursing duties. But I found her a sunny spot to wait, and made sure that she knew how to use her phone in case she needed to phone anyone.

So I made a new friend today, and did a good deed, but it left me little time in Bath, so just a quick on the hoof blip of the Christmas Market. It’s only the first day of the market which lasts just over two weeks, so I will have plenty of time to return and have a proper look, and hopefully take some more atmospheric photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.