WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

One tree

After one street, one tree. I had given up photographing it because I was miffed at the fact that I could no longer get it framed against the sky, without the new houses intruding. But this afternoon as I returned from taking yet more photos of vines, I grabbed a shot from a different spot, and somehow it worked -- above is straight out of the camera, no messing, not even cropping.

To the cine club this evening to see Django -- a film based on an incident in the life of Django Reinhardt. I had no idea about this episode in which his gipsy heritage saw him threatened by the Nazis, nor that he had composed a requiem for the Tsiganes murdered during the war (in number second only to the Jews). The piece was performed once in May 1945, conducted by Django,  before the score was lost. Only a few bars are now extant. It's worth reflecting that if it hadn't been for his huge success, this style of jazz would have stayed in the gipsy community and never become world famous.  The film is not a masterpiece, but well worth seeing -- Reda Kateb is convincing as Django.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.