McQueen Shoreditch

What a full day!
I woke at 5.45, dealt with some post and emails, did some laundry, walked through the park to the doctor for some blood tests (trying to work out why I’ve been coughing since June), went to the bank, posted some paperwork to the Probate Office, walked home past a terrible crash involving a motorbike and a lorry, read later on the news that no one was killed but the motorcyclist was airlifted to hospital.
Back home Zebedee was in a flap as his bus hadn’t come and he was now late for college, as I’d seen the crash I knew why the buses weren’t running properly And was able to email the college and explain, he went off to get the train.
Max got back from Sainsbury’s and I helped him unpack the shopping and did some cleaning in the kitchen.

Fired off some emails to a couple of Gulliver’s teachers.. One who hasn’t been getting back to me with information I need on how Gulliver can complete his Duke of Edinburgh award, she has now answered all my questions and also wrote a long email to the history teacher who send a blanket email to all the parents saying that the children should be doing two hours revision week, I suggested that she should be setting actual pieces to revise, I also commented that if all teachers were expecting the pupils to revise for two hours a week would Gulliver have any free time at all? I wonder how she’ll respond...

Then I recorded a vocal session for a TV ad, can’t say what, sent the vocals off to the producer along with my invoice.

Countless other admin stuff including ordering a replacement Oyster card for Gulliver who was broken his.

Max’s Mum turned up at 3, she is here for the night, Zebedee got home shortly afterwards and Gulliver at 5.30 after Soul Band (The head of music has made Gulliver the lead guitarist of the school soul band and they going to be performing at winter concert soon, how exciting).

Then I had a disco nap for a couple of hours, Max made a delicious curry and we all sat round the table together.

I left them watching the new Star Trek and went upstairs to prepare my music put my face on, Cab came at 10 and took me to McQueen in Shoreditch where I sang four songs, it was a fierce angel night and it was lovely to see Mark Doyle and some other familiar faces from past events. My driver was called Mohammed and was from Lebanon, he came here age 18 after the war, he was married to a Spanish woman had two young daughters, it was very interesting hearing about his life.

Got picked up at 12:45 and had a very interesting conversation with my driver about Islam. He had also had a colourful life, his father took him away from his mother when he was only three months old and brought him to England from Pakistan, he didn’t even know about this until an uncle got in touch to say that his Mother was dying when he was 20, he rushed over to Pakistan to try meet her but she passed away before he arrived, he then found out he had a sister who he is now very close to. She told him that his mother cried and prayed every night that she would find him and had no idea where he was. He is married with four children under 10 and works most nights as a driver.

I don’t usually write down everything that happens in a day and I haven’t written down everything that’s happened today but I just thought it would be interesting to write down just how many things I have actually done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.